Welcome to the Fine Arts Program

Parsons The New School for Design is one of the world's leading centers for teaching and research in the fields of art, design and new media. At Parsons, we believe that artists perform an essential role in our society; to that end, we create a challenging and diverse learning environment for developing studio-based research and critical scholarship. We embrace interdisciplinary approaches to making and thinking about visual culture and promote global understanding of the arts.

The programs in Fine Arts offer an exciting immersion in the world of art. Our goal is to familiarize students with the means, the context and the interpretation of art through intensive instruction in the manifold techniques that contemporary creators have at their disposal. Students acquire comprehensive understanding of both the material elements that compose artworks and the ideas that make them meaningful. Through ongoing dialogues with a diverse faculty of arts professionals who provide individualized attention and a variety of perspectives on art's place in the global culture, students develop their own individual voice and critical apparatus.

The MFA in Fine Arts is a two-year program committed to expanding the formal, intellectual and conceptual work of advanced students. The MFA program encourages its students to approach the creation, presentation and interpretation of their work with thoughtfulness and refined skill in order to successfully launch their careers as professional artists. In addition to intensive ongoing studio critiques with faculty and peers, students also benefit from interaction with an impressive array of visiting artists who represent the range of art practices and cultural orientations that are redefining the cutting edge of art in the 21st century.

Current and past faculty, artists and lecturers have included:

AA Bronson, Aki Sasamoto, Alan Michelsen, Alan Michelson, Alexi Worth, Andrea Geyer, Andy Bichlbaum (The Yes Man), Ann Hamilton , Anthony Aziz, Anton Vidokle, Antoni Muntadas, Antonio Vega Macotela, Brian Tolle, Bruce High Quality Foundation, Carlos Motta, Chico MacMurtrie, Chitra Ganesh, Coco Fusco, Cristobal Lehyt, Cristobal Lehyt, Daniel Bozhkov, David Mann, Deborah Kass, Don Porcaro, Doug Ashford, Ernesto Pujol, Eve Sussman, Fred Wilson, Glen Goldberg, Hank Willis Thomas, Jack McGrath, Jackie Brookner, Janine Antoni, Javier Tellez, Jeanine Oelson, John Miller, Kalup Linzy, Kamau Patton, Kara Walker, Kianga Ford, Kurt Kauper, Laylah Ali, Lenor Malen, Lesley Hewitt, Lin & Lam, Maggie Clinton, Malik Gaines, Marina Rosenfeld, Mark Dion, Marlene McCarty, Martha Wilson, Matthew Weistein, Michael Joo, Mickalene Thomas, Miguel Ventura, Mira Schor, Nicolas Guagnini, Nicole Awai, Occupy Museums: Imani Brown and Noah Fischer, Reverend Billy and Savitri D., Rit Premnath, Ryan McGinness, Sam Durant, Sara VanDerBeek, Shinique Smith, Shirin Neshat, Simone Douglas, Simone Leigh, Tehching Hsieh, Thom Donovan, Tom Butter, Victor Zamudio-Taylor, Walid Raad, LaToya Ruby Frazier, Mierle Laderman Ukeles, Johan Grimonprez, Julie Ault, Paula Hayes, Wu Tsang, Hans Haacke, Jack Whitten, Martin Kersels, Dolores Zinny, Nayland Blake Pedro Lasch and Fia Backstrom.